West indies federation caribbean

Leblanc had first come to prominence as a member of the Federal Party, which represented Dominica in the short-lived West Indies Federation, and subsequently led the DLP to electoral victories in 1965 and 1970 (see The West Indies Federation, 1957-62, ch. 1). Federation is the act of forming a political unity under a federal government. In 1958, the British Caribbean nests came together to form a West Indian Federation. There were 10 units in this union: Jamaica, Antigua, Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, Dominica, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, St. Kitts, Montserrat, Grenada. West Indies, Spanish Indias Occidentales, French Indes Occidentales, Dutch West-Indië, crescent-shaped group of islands more than 2,000 miles (3,200 km) long separating the Gulf of Mexico and the Caribbean Sea, to the west and south, from the Atlantic Ocean, to the east and north. The former West Indies Federation were consists of 10 British West Indian territories established in January 1958. This federation included Caribbean Islands or territories, then under British control. former federation of 10 British West Indian territories formed in 1958. On January 1st, 1987, the East Caribbean Federation was officially formed, consisting of those four nations involved in the aid agreement. It took its flag and symbols from the former West Indies Federation, an attempt at Caribbean unification from 1958 to 1962 that had failed due to nationalist tensions between the islands. Between 1958 and 1962, there was a short-lived federation between several Anglophone Caribbean countries, called the West Indies Federation. The Anglophone Caribbean makes up a composite cricket team. The West Indies cricket team also includes Guyana, as another former British colony.